Love and Candlesticks

Leave a comment

January 5, 2013 by That's What Katie Said

Image

If someone asked me what I loved about Les Misérables, I would tell them this:

Music.

Cinematography.

And that the story preaches this:

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’ But I tell you, Do not resist an evil person. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also. And if someone wants to sue you and take your tunic, let him have your cloak as well.”

~Jesus

Not only is the story full of hope and passion, it is full of love. The kind of love Jesus was all about. We see this pass from the priest, as he gave Jean Valjean the candlesticks after he was caught stealing other silver. And then from Valjean to Javert as he spares Javert’s life behind the barricade. It was so moving to see how affected these characters were after receiving the love Matthew 5:38-40 speaks of.

Valjean’s whole life was changed. He rescued Cosette and became a father to her. He ran from Javert, but ultimately freed Javert when he had the chance to kill him. Javert claimed that being given a second chance at life would not stop him from his duty. He wouldn’t think twice about arresting ValJean the next time they crossed paths. But when the time came, he was so affected by the love Valjean had showed him that he had no choice but to let him go.

God loves us this way, and to an extent we could never understand. We were broken. We were wretched. We were unclean. Until Christ came and ransomed our weary souls. He RANSOMED me in full. He died and went to the depths of hell. The very place I should be going. But he conquered death and offered me life and candlesticks. Not only am I going to Heaven for accepting that Christ died for me, but he gives me so much more than I deserve even now! He blesses me on a daily basis, and I can never thank him enough.

But I can love him. And in that I can love others.

“To love another person is to see the face of God.”

Leave a comment