11. Dunk my Aggie Ring

Leave a comment

July 12, 2012 by That's What Katie Said

On Friday, October 14th, 2011 I dunked my Aggie Ring.

For non-Aggies, here’s a short history. The Aggie Ring is something you earn by completing the amount of hours it takes to be considered a Senior. All Aggie Rings are the same, minus the class year, the name on the inside, and whether or not it is “antiqued.” Aggie Ring Day is one of the most looked forward to events in an Aggie’s time at A&M. As an “unofficial” tradition you “dunk” your ring after you get it. Most people do it in beer.

I got my ring on September 18th, 2009. It was the fall of my Junior year and I wasn’t 21 yet. Being the good little girl that I am, I wasn’t about to drink alcohol, let alone a whole pitcher of it, before I was 21. But I still always wanted to dunk my ring!

Well, time went on and I ended up graduating without dunking it.

So the fall after I graduated, one of my friends (who was a senior at the time) decided she wanted to dunk hers, but didn’t want to dunk it alone. So I jumped on board and ended up with 4 other girls doing the same.

I was SO NERVOUS about dunking my ring. First of all like 30+ people were watching me. Second I am terrible at chugging, in fact I can’t do it. Third, that’s a lot of beer!

None the less, at 11:12pm (it’s customary to dunk your ring at a time related to your class year. I would have done it at 8:11 – 2011 military time – but two of the girls were class of 12) I dropped my ring in this and started “chugging” away:

That’s 4 cold Bud Lights minus the carbonation. I would have dunked in my favorite – Ziegen – but I was told no :/

This is what I look like swallowing beer really fast:

I was so afraid it was going to take me like 20 minutes, but no. I finished in 2 minutes and 4 seconds (that beats some guys) without taking breaks and without throwing up! Needless to say, considering my circumstances, I was quite proud of this.

Drink until you catch the Ring in your mouth!

Now that I can cross this off my bucket list, I never want to drink that much beer at once again (ask me later about what it’s like to be insta-drunk) and I probably won’t go near Bud Light any time soon…

Leave a comment